Model Cars Magazine Forum

How do I weather the plated brass parts in my Model T kit?

After many years, I am returning to the model building hobby. My daughter and I built a Revell Corvette for her 4-H entry last year, and I was surprised to learn how much I missed building.

I've been very inspired after watching Dr. Cranky's YouTube videos to build some junkers.

I bought a Lindberg Ford Model T in 1:16, Sure, I realize this isn't the ideal kit to build, but it was cheap, and something we can practice some weathering techniques.

I'd like to learn how to weather the brightly...and actually gaudy...brass (chrome style) plastic parts. The rusty and junk-out Model T is going to look very odd with a rusted body and bright gaudy chrome.

I am totally new to weathering techniques, and I don't have a working airbrush set up yet. Heck, at this point, I own less than 10 different colors of paint!!!!

Ideas? Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks!!!!!