Model Cars Magazine Forum

paint booth just got here

And the booth is only as good as the painter. I turn out pretty good results outside on warm un-windy days. Just sayin'. Guess I'm not too concerned about the paint particles going into the atmosphere... I'm a very bad man.

i would also think it would be next to impossible to get sufficient concentration of flammable propellent or solvent vapors while painting a model to cause a problem. BUT (big but) stranger things have happened. When in doubt, heed the instructions. The lawyers put a lot of time into them. ;)

Edited by Ace-Garageguy

I've been using the exact same spray booth for a good 18 months now throwing everything from enamels to 2k clear coats at it and its yet to explode or have any kind of an issue.

Its a generic spray booth sold around the world under a number of different names.

Line the inside of the booth with white freezer paper and change it once in awhile it keeps the booth free of permanent paintbuild up.

X2 on that.

When I needed a new filter I took out the one in the booth and went along to a local supplier of filtration material and bought a square metre off his bulk roll of equivalent material.

Buying it like that and cutting them to size at home costs me $1.65 a filter compared to the $15 each they wanted for a original replacement part locally.

I got one too. I think it's great for the money, shhh, I got mine for $29.00 retail. I think I stole it!! I shoot only Acylics but clean up with lacquer tinner, no issues. But watch out for what I call spray back, when you spray too close to the outer limits of the shroud, you may get some in the face!

Line the inside of the booth with white freezer paper and change it once in awhile it keeps the booth free of permanent paintbuild up.