Model Cars Magazine Forum

'84 Porsche 944 10/13/17 photo of 1:1 found

Foxer

I know I shouldn't be starting yet another build, but my '91 944 is approaching paint and this one, both of which I owned, is the same Guards Red and I should have both ready for my most hated model task .. PAINTING! :lol:

I have no photos of the 1:1 so here's a few that are the same color and wheels.

I just found a photo of my 1:1 ...

1984 Porsche 944 red scanned 0001

I located an old Testors 944S kit which has the correct front bumper. I think I have some Fuchs wheels coming from a gracious member, o-man, also. And I located a Monogram 924 kit to supply the old, 924 style dash.

I'm going to try something I've never done before with this one ... build a CURBSIDE! I'm going crazy again on the engine for the '91 944 and figure I should give myself a break. :lol:

Here's a body shot along side the '91 in the back with primer. Hopefully  the red plastic on this version won't hurt the red paint! ...

84 944 DSC 1264

Edited by Foxer

Nice project Mike. Looks like your going to end up with a spectrum of 944's in your display cabinet! Do you have plans to build the Hasagawa 968 as well?

If you are building a pre 1985 944 (I guess you are because of the dash from the 924 kit) then I expect that you are aware of the different windscreen too. The early 944 had a windscreen that was recessed about 1/2 inch, whereas the post 1985 944 had a flush fit windscreen. Having said that, It's not a major issue and I doubt anyone would notice.

Good luck with this project Mike. I look forward to seeing your progress.

Nice project Mike. Looks like your going to end up with a spectrum of 944's in your display cabinet! Do you have plans to build the Hasagawa 968 as well?