Jump to content


coe aerodyne question


  • You cannot reply to this topic
11 replies to this topic

#1 redneckrodder

redneckrodder

    MCM Avid Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Location:colorado
  • Full Name:james gilpin

Posted 25 October 2013 - 04:57 PM

will it work to cut the top of the aerodyne off of the revel w900 and glue it on the top of the AMT k123 coe  



#2 Edsel-Dan

Edsel-Dan

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,343 posts
  • Location:Pocomoke, Maryland
  • Full Name:Daniel Lee Gunter

Posted 25 October 2013 - 05:14 PM

Not sure you need to as Both AMT & Revell offered KW COE Aerodynes.

They should be available. And likely, AMT will re-issue their's soon

with all the truck kits they Are re-issuing



#3 redneckrodder

redneckrodder

    MCM Avid Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Location:colorado
  • Full Name:james gilpin

Posted 26 October 2013 - 01:22 PM

Not sure you need to as Both AMT & Revell offered KW COE Aerodynes.

They should be available. And likely, AMT will re-issue their's soon

with all the truck kits they Are re-issuing

 

I know they did but I cant afford one for 80 dollars and want to build one as soon as possible and its an excuse to build snowmans w900 and an aerodyne coe without letting the sleeper from the w9oo go to waste B)  :)



#4 KJ790

KJ790

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Syracuse, NY
  • Full Name:KJ Humphreys

Posted 26 October 2013 - 02:14 PM

You can make it work. The K123 model is a shorter cab than the AMT aerodyne model (though you could get the aersodyne in the 86" cab as well). The K123 is also an older cab (early 70's vs. early 80's for the aerodyne model). If you change the door handles and vent windows you can update the cab pretty easily if you are really that picky though.



#5 Jim B

Jim B

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,487 posts
  • Location:Chittenango, NY
  • Full Name:James Bongiovanni

Posted 26 October 2013 - 03:51 PM

You'll also need the wider grill.



#6 redneckrodder

redneckrodder

    MCM Avid Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Location:colorado
  • Full Name:james gilpin

Posted 26 October 2013 - 04:35 PM

You can make it work. The K123 model is a shorter cab than the AMT aerodyne model (though you could get the aersodyne in the 86" cab as well). The K123 is also an older cab (early 70's vs. early 80's for the aerodyne model). If you change the door handles and vent windows you can update the cab pretty easily if you are really that picky though.

 

naa the coe will be my 3rd or fourth commercial truck model so still getting out the basics would I still have to update it to make a 74-78

 

 

 


You'll also need the wider grill.

 

 

 

the aerodynes came with wider grills ?



#7 lapazleo

lapazleo

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Location:great lakes region
  • Full Name:Leo Bishop

Posted 26 October 2013 - 05:37 PM

Actually all k models got a wider grille in the mid 70s. AMTs k123 is a 71 vintage. The wider grille was because of bigger radiators to accomadate higher horsepower engines.



#8 ap40rocktruck

ap40rocktruck

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Upstate NY
  • Full Name:Richard C Mark

Posted 26 October 2013 - 07:08 PM

Soon i will post photos of the wider grill, grab irons and the cab mounts for updating the AMT K-100. all cast in snow white resin.

 

say tuned over the next day or so.

 

Ap40



#9 KJ790

KJ790

    MCM Friend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Syracuse, NY
  • Full Name:KJ Humphreys

Posted 26 October 2013 - 07:18 PM

Actually all k models got a wider grille in the mid 70s. AMTs k123 is a 71 vintage. The wider grille was because of bigger radiators to accomadate higher horsepower engines.

The wider grill was only an option on the K models until '79 or '80 (I can't remember the exact year now), then it became standard after that.



#10 mistermodel

mistermodel

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 550 posts
  • Location:ONTARIO
  • Full Name:KEVIN YORKE

Posted 27 October 2013 - 04:07 AM

I made the W model into a flat top and held the  raised roof section up on the coe.It fits good ,the corners may need a little work.Back in the day some companys made aftermarket aerodyne roofs so a little mismatch on the older cab would be ok


Edited by mistermodel, 27 October 2013 - 04:08 AM.


#11 lapazleo

lapazleo

    MCM Ohana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Location:great lakes region
  • Full Name:Leo Bishop

Posted 27 October 2013 - 04:46 AM

I made the W model into a flat top and held the  raised roof section up on the coe.It fits good ,the corners may need a little work.Back in the day some companys made aftermarket aerodyne roofs so a little mismatch on the older cab would be ok

To answer the the original question it would be fine commercial vehicles recieve many modifications sometimes one of a kind so really anything is possible.



#12 redneckrodder

redneckrodder

    MCM Avid Poster

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 257 posts
  • Location:colorado
  • Full Name:james gilpin

Posted 27 October 2013 - 02:12 PM

Ok thanks everyone youve all helped me out alot