Model Cars Magazine Forum

Magneto Distributor?

Yes part # 20 is a magneto, and part # 12 would be the distributor.

No, it's a Spalding Flamethrower distributor...NOT a magneto. A magneto generates its own spark. The Spalding Flamethrower does not.

It uses two EXTERNAL coils, unlike a mag of the era, which had its "coils" internally.

DSC_0215.jpg

Edited by Ace-Garageguy

right click on the picture and a box should pop up. left click on "save as" and keep track of the default location or select your own. you could also use the snipping tool (start menu/ accessories/ snipping tool) and make a screen shot of it and save to your choice of location. the path is how i get there on my computer and yours may be different.

a third way might be to highlight the address bar/ box, and save it that way. if the origin of the document was given you could have saved that location, too.

• 4 weeks later...

I've been building models for about 50 years now, and I love it when I find out about things like the above. I rarely wire my engines, but I'm always interested in learning about what is what in my model kit. Until today, I never knew there was anything like the Spalding Flamethrower. I like many others just assumed it was a magneto. This is when this site is the best. When one has threads like this, that explain things like the above. Very cool!

Scott

• 2 years later...
On 6/21/2015 at 8:42 PM, Ace-Garageguy said:

Though it looks much like one, it's not in fact a magneto.

It's a high-output coil-type distributor called a Spalding Flamethrower

mLY_1MYu9ILaErvf1dSSf0w.jpg

Here's a wiring diagram.

spalding4.jpg

Here I was, ready to ask you where the coil wires went on the Flamethrower and the answer came up in the image page of the internet. Thanks Bill.

• 3 weeks later...