Model Cars Magazine Forum

Airbrushing

I am new to airbrushing completely! So heres the skinny, I bought a harbor freight air brush compressor and airbrush kit. (God, why did I do this?) I have watched COUNTLESS youtube vids on this subject.. but its not working properly. I had to buy a regulator, because this one didnt come with one. I installed it but its not perpendicular to the compressor like it should be, it wont tighten any further and I am afraid it will strip. So the regulator is off to an angle, not straight up and down. Then on top of that the thing cycles like every two seconds on then off, even when in use. I set the reg at 25-30 PSI which is normal and recommended for thinned down paints. But that leads me to my next question... the double action syphon feed airbrush provided with the compressor looks the part but I think it SUCKS! It doesnt seem to wanna spray continuously. It spits. Plus I cant seem to thin down vallejo accrylic..I used Testors Aztec Multi use acrylic thinner and it doesnt seem to work..I NEED HELP BADLY! I bought the compressor a while back and so I cant return it..I dont want to be at a lost, but I will buy something better if I can get some proper recommendations. I also am thinking of purchasing a gravity fed Paasche Talon. IT seems everyone is using Gravity feeds. Any help would be DEEPLY appreciated. Thank you. Happy Modeling! 

P.S. Here is what I boughtcompressor.thumb.jpg.33c58aba8a24211a125

The compressor should be fine, it will cycle quite often due to the small tank, but will be more than ample.  I know nothing about the AB you have, but i have had the same Paasche airbrush

for over 25 years, and only replaced an o'ring and a hose recently, so i will highly recommend Paasche.

As for spitting, it sounds like your paint could be too thick maybe, or if your using the jar, try the cup, i find the jars are a bit temperamental.