Model Cars Magazine Forum

1958 Plymouth 318 Poly Head 3D printed engine-------Finished! 7/13/17

MrObsessive

First, I want to give many thanks to Doug Craig who asked me to build up the test shot of this engine! I feel flattered that he asked, and I've been eager to get something that's much better in appearance than what the AMT kit gives you. There will be some changes made to the final product before Doug lets this loose for you guys to gobble up! :D Please keep in mind that I'm no Mopar expert, and what I'll build here won't be absolutely spic and and span perfect. 

Of course, like I do with anything I build, I'm treating this just as if it were a kit in itself which it certainly is! So follow along with me, as you'll see what I've got done so far. ;)

The following are a few of the parts that'll be in the kit. These are the poly heads which were unique to this particular engine. The heads in the AMT '58 Belvedere kit don't even come close to having the right shape. :(

photo-vi.jpg

Engine block.............

photo1-vi.jpg

Oil pan and intake manifold. The oil pan I'd eventually strip the silver paint off and clean up the "graininess" of the surface a bit.

photo2-vi.jpg

The heads didn't quite lay flat on the block, so some filing is in order.........

photo3-vi.jpg
photo1-vi.jpg

photo4-vi.jpg

OK, that's much better! I'm using 5 min. epoxy to set everything together.

photo4-vi.jpg
photo5-vi.jpg

Here's the water pump........

photo6-vi.jpg

I drilled a hole in the top of the water pump for the coolant inlet in the intake manifold.

photo3-vi.jpg

A preliminary fit of the inlet..........not quite right in position on the manifold.......I've since re-drilled a new location for the inlet.

photo7-vi.jpg

The water pump now epoxied on.

photo8-vi.jpg

Oil pan now stripped and cleaned up, and now epoxied on the block. While I was at it, I drilled a couple holes in the fuel pump for the gas lines. 

photo9-vi.jpg
photo10-vi.jpg