Model Cars Magazine Forum

Rattle Can Primers

I have been using DupliColor Gray Filler #FP101 (available at your local auto parts store).  Will cover anything and sands out nice. You can use the red  version for undercoating red based overcoats. You won't be disappointed. As with all primers, don't apply it too heavy, as a 'filler' it will fill in details if apply too much in one coat. This paint is easy to apply in light coats. My $.02 and worth both pennies... -RRR

Using Duplicolor and other rattlecan primers intended for real cars on styrene models is becoming more and more problematic (though you should be OK on ABS, as it's much more resistant to "hot" primers and paints).

I've been painting for well over 50 years, and developed my skill to where I could shoot a slick, wet coat of primer that would flow out smooth with no orange peel, cover well enough, but not obliterate any details.

Recently, many automotive primer formulations have apparently changed, and many kit plastics are nowhere near as solvent resistant as before.

The net result is that, if I shoot wet and slick (as worked fine for 30 years), the cheap new plastics craze instantly, leaving a model that's useless for anything other than a rusty rat. Attempting to shoot multiple "dry" or "mist" coats, as often recommended, makes a pebbly or badly orange-peeled surface needing much careful, fine sanding to look decent.

I'm still working on solutions, and haven't found one that works 100% of the time yet.

Here's a thread that examines these problems in some depth.

I have been using DupliColor Gray Filler #FP101 (available at your local auto parts store).  Will cover anything and sands out nice. You can use the red  version for undercoating red based overcoats. You won't be disappointed. As with all primers, don't apply it too heavy, as a 'filler' it will fill in details if apply too much in one coat. This paint is easy to apply in light coats. My $.02 and worth both pennies... -RRR