Model Cars Magazine Forum

SLOW BUILDER

I was just wondering if anyone else but me takes so long to build a truck tractor model.  I have been working on building A 1/25 PETERBILT 359 model for about three years,  using a AMT kit and using parts from a REVELL snap kit and also scratch building a number of parts to make it and accurate 1980 PETERBILT 359. I got the info from TIMS TRUCKS and researching the web  before I started building it.  I really enjoy building but I get into building streaks for short periods of time then I get into short and sometimes long downtimes where I don't touch the project at all. Am I the only one who does this? Is this normal ?

JARRNO88

Yes, you are normal:)

Everyone I know that is in to modelling does this, start a project and get some done on it then get sidetracked by life in general and then when they get the time they will start another project. Sometimes projects are forgotten about and sometimes they just take a long time to finish.
I guy on the Norwegian IPMS board has been builing on his 1:350 model of the Japanese warship Yamato since Sepember 2006 and the last update on the thread was in 2012 and he is still not done with it.

Same for me. I’m “involved” in my hobby on a near daily basis, but it’s 90% dreaming and 10% doing. That may even be underestimating the time spent in “research and development” - the bulk of which is time on this forum. But that’s perfectly fine. It’s a hobby - no rules, no deadlines, no expectations - just true enjoyment...unlike the rest of life.

2 hours ago, vincen47 said:

Same for me. I’m “involved” in my hobby on a near daily basis, but it’s 90% dreaming and 10% doing. That may even be underestimating the time spent in “research and development” - the bulk of which is time on this forum. But that’s perfectly fine. It’s a hobby - no rules, no deadlines, no expectations - just true enjoyment...unlike the rest of life.