Model Cars Magazine Forum

Paint spray booth

Here's my version 3.0 that I've been using for a few years now. It's a downdraft style booth with a Dayton blower I ordered through my old job and takes a 14" x 25" filter below the stage. It's way overbuilt from 3/4" MDF.

IMG_6090.jpg

I just realized I hadn't cut the hole for the fan in the first pic, it's centered in the floor to hence the down-draft design.

IMG_6093.jpg

If you're thinking about building your own, I highly recommend this article by Klaus Raddatz. It was a godsend in designing mine.

Klaus' article on airbrush booth design

This is mine.

Works like a charm. I don't think there would be too much I'd change about it.

booth3.jpg

and I use it a lot. I have since added a second line and a Iwata brush.

boothtoday.jpg

Edited by CAL

And here is the layout for 2 booths cut from one 4x8 sheet of plywood:

plywoodcutout2.jpg

I used an 80cfm bathroom fan for the down draft exhaust. The booth itself is made out of 1x2 pine furring strips and 1/4" underlayment plywood for use under vinyl flooring. The 1/4 ply helps keep the weight down. After I made the layout plans and built the booth, I added a cut-out at the top for an aquarium light. I covered the hole with thin Lexan.

I hope this helps. If you have any questions, please feel free to e-mail me!

Russ

I have the Adobe file from this guy for this booth, I can send it to those who would like it, if he doesnt respond.

really? too late i already made one so well see if the theory is true in a few hours

Yeah, mine is an up draft and if you keep it clean and run the fan for a bit before painting I haven't had any problems to make me want to change to a down draft.

It was my original plan to do a down draft, but would have required a lot more work and loss of booth space.

This is mine.

Works like a charm. I don't think there would be too much I'd change about it.

booth3.jpg

and I use it a lot. I have since added a second line and a Iwata brush.