Model Cars Magazine Forum

1953 Chevy 3100 Truck.

QbanFam

Hello everyone. I’m new to scale modeling and this is my first diorama ever. I have been experimenting with preserved sheer moss, which I have used as grass. Please, feel free to critique and give some input. It’s still a work in progress as I’m waiting for some materials to arrive. I will repost with updates as I add more details. 

7D4BD2A6-A581-4F6B-82A9-35C636F6B509.jpeg

AADD308B-F871-42DF-8E21-4B7B7EC9E5C6.jpeg

F48ECA79-0E4F-4A93-A6F0-48BF59BE392B.jpeg

416CD480-EDF7-4D0E-B7E2-E4799481497A.jpeg

252F08BB-5C06-4C66-A0C2-E0D7D20EC525.jpeg

8FA482F8-F428-41A0-857D-D51D7E3A7787.jpeg

9CFBCEAD-D992-460D-890B-52B20DB1BB7B.jpeg

99D7B54A-99E8-41E4-A7CC-3CDAEBF1C0AD.jpeg

Edited by QbanFam

One thing I have done to help with my dioramas is to find an actual car or truck that has been abandoned and study it. If that's not  available to you look up pictures on the internet. It's the small details that help achieve a realistic look.

Edited by uncle potts

I was at first going to suggest vehicles seldom get completely paint-free rusty, but looking at this Powerwagon proves me otherwise.  As Paul suggested above, research!  I found this yard on a trip, I'm always looking for such places, annoys my passenger(s) when I come to a screeching stop and u-turn.  One thing that bugs me about creating rust, don't build up the paint, the real thing does not get really rough.  I suggest wet-sanding that, which will add a mottled look.  I also recommend adding dents, they can be small.

You made a great start on the diorama, I've seen too many that are sterile and too clean.  I would suggest looking for various sizes of small pebbles.

Most important, have fun!

DSC_0032.JPG