Model Cars Magazine Forum

1971 Dodge Charger

David G.

I need a break from my 1934 Duesenberg Steampunk Roadster. I've hit a point where I just don't know what to do with it right now.

So while I await inspiration, I've decided to work on AMT's 1971 Dodge Charger. My plan is to build it as a companion to the replica I built of my 2013 Dodge Charger I built back in 2016.

This is the kit, I won it in a raffle at one of the Desert Scale Classic model car shows, 2012 if I remember correctly.

71_DodgeCharger_00.thumb.jpg.12916c9a9092eb8b67476fff12497de6.jpg

The engine and sub-frame are nicely detailed and went together with no difficulty.

71_DodgeCharger_01.thumb.jpg.d79f6536b86375c3847ae73cd3bad4c4.jpg

This is my first attempt at creating chassis over-spray. Detail painting is one of my favorite tasks.

71_DodgeCharger_02.thumb.jpg.ca78f50f301ee2ad883559546e09bc56.jpg

As always, thanks for taking the time to look and feel free to comment.

David G.

Edited by David G.
Typo

9 hours ago, geetee66 said:

You're off to a great start! That engine looks fabulous.

detail painting is one of my favourite parts of a build, too. And weathering.

Thank you Guy, I too enjoy weathering. I believe that almost everything should get at least some light weathering as nothing maintains its "showroom fresh" qualities for more than a few days or even hours after leaving the dealer's lot.

7 hours ago, tbill said:

Agreed, you’re off to a great start, engine looks fabulous.

Thanks Tom.

3 hours ago, espo said:

I like how the engine looks natural and slightly used. 

Thanks David, I do like things clean and shiny, but not too much.

David G.

I decided that I wanted to go a little wild with the color on this one. I'm trying to approximate Dodge's "Green Go" color from 1971.

71_DodgeCharger_03.thumb.jpg.6596e1ed381ef3553abf0f78746aec52.jpg