Model Cars Magazine Forum

Mashpee Breaker 354

I've moved the other posts on this subject here so that you can see them all together.

002.JPG.dfb143274a062beb969032bb26c062cb.JPG

This is the start of the construction of Mashpee 354, a 1967 IH R190 brush truck that was built by the Thibeault Company in Canada.  It was used on Cape Cod for many years and has since been put out to pasture.  I work as a consultant to Mashpee so there is a bit of a connection there.  This build started out with constructing a frame that needed lengthening and casting a full set of tires.  Several items have come from the Ertl IH kits as you can see.  The frame is from one of the Ford snowplow kits.

004.JPG.b7cc74849ec515ef0988ff23f29126eb.JPG

Here the frame has been cut so that an extension can be added to the center.  This truck has a 176" wheel base to the center of the tandems so the frame had to be extended.  It also has a frame extension at the rear that is a support for the rear mounted pump.

027.JPG.db7beec51767d1be42c337fe3d10ea20.JPG

I made up some movable front hubs using brass channel and brass tubing.  The axle pivots from inside along the vertical pin seen in the photo.  The small screw will hold the tire and wheel in place.  A bushing was inserted in the wheel that is somewhat smaller than the head of the screw.  It allows the wheel to turn but captures in on the axle.

028.JPG.f503cf08e0d559b7869602a1d78cb5fd.JPG

Here's a look at the components of the hub.  The parts were made from much longer pieces of channel and tubing.  Doing so helps keep things at right angles.  After all is said and done, the pieces are carefully cut to length using a cutoff wheel.  Going slow in the cutting process assures that the solder does not melt and things don't begin to fall apart. 

031.JPG.f99bf566340afdb9d1dc71ed2a5d5618.JPG