Model Cars Magazine Forum

This is a resin kit of Taarna from the movie Heavy metal. I built this kit a few years ago .  The sword is made from brass ,also the bit and the rivets I used for detail. The reins are made from leather. This post was prompted by the'59 Corvette  post . The movie was made in '81 I think, and is a animated film  Some say it is kind of hokey, but I like it. If you like hard rock from that era you should check it out  For those whom remember the movie and for those who don't, I hope you like this post.

IMG_2518.JPG

IMG_2519.JPG

IMG_2520.JPG

IMG_2522.JPG

Tarna.jpg

Tarna1.jpg

Tarna3.jpg

• Like 3

I've been looking for this kit forever. Do you mind telling me where you got it? I'm a foremost collector of all things Heavy Metal magazine and by virtue of being a modeler I've always hungered for this very kit.

Taarna is a personal fave of mine, and this kit is near and dear to me. You did a very nice job on it also.

TIA

Bob

Thanks guys for the kind words, they are much appreciated.  To Ken N. thanks, I was trying to get as close to the movie character as I could.  Bob, I have had this kit for close to 15 years so I do not exactly remember where I got it but I think from Monsters in motion. I do not know if they carry it anymore, but I thought I saw it on a site somewhere. If you google it,  it should come up. Good luck.

Taarna was so realistic because she was created by Rotoscope animation. Somewhere--probably on the box set--I've seen the film of the live model/actress used to create Taarna. (I think some of this footage might be available on the Net somewhere, if you want to look for it.) 

Taarna's face looks nothing like the real actress, however. I always thought her face was modeled on Stevie Nicks. B)

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...
  • 1 year later...