Model Cars Magazine Forum

Hello All. 

This is my first time painting a figure and my first time working with resin so any tips and hints will be appreciated.

I'm making this as a companion to the 49 Mercury Joker-Mobile that I recently completed.

I bought the figure on line, it was originally offered as a part of this kit.

Joker_00.jpg.f0af618fd8756408890e3c62800d5fbe.jpg

Here's the starting point.

Joker_01.jpg.1db910681987e6731dc1282b572c5186.jpg

And here we are all cleaned up, primed and shaded.

Joker_02.jpg.d68f0c9987e278da594c6f90d8b2c201.jpg

I'm working out the colors now an I plan to start painting soon.

Thanks for stopping to look and as always, please feel free to comment.

David G.

Joker_03.jpg

Edited by David G.

Cool figurine. What paints do you have? Acrylic are better, they're drying faster. You should also think about making a wet palette, because straight from the jar they are too thick. Do not paint everything at once, better more thinned layers, like one thick one. Wet blending will work here :) 
Shading with washem doesn't make much sense at this stage. Perhaps it would be better to primer the figure with black in its entirety and gray with a 45-degree angle. Then you would have the shadows marked. 

I watch with interest, finally some figure SBS.

On 4/30/2021 at 5:42 AM, Marcin M. said:

Cool figurine. What paints do you have? Acrylic are better, they're drying faster. You should also think about making a wet palette, because straight from the jar they are too thick. Do not paint everything at once, better more thinned layers, like one thick one. Wet blending will work here :) 
Shading with washem doesn't make much sense at this stage. Perhaps it would be better to primer the figure with black in its entirety and gray with a 45-degree angle. Then you would have the shadows marked. 

I watch with interest, finally some figure SBS.