Model Cars Magazine Forum

Car Emblems

Do most leave the molded on emblems on your car kits and then try to paint them silver, etc or do most sand off the molded emblems and use kit decals to replace them?

I came across a part of Don Yosts DVD and he noted to always sand off the emblems and he used I think Keith Marks decal emblems and noted they looked almost raised and real. I find that hard to believe. I know Tamiya car kits come with photo etch stickers (or something like that).

Looking for feed back on the best aftermarket products to use to replace molded on emblems in muscle car kits like Nova's, Mustang's, Camaro's, etc.

Most of the common cars like Mustangs, Novas, Camaros, etc have photoetch sets available that usually include emblems. That's the easiest way to get replacement emblems. I think Keith Marks prints his emblem decals with Alps silver foil, which is very shiny and chrome-like although they have very little thickeness (I am an Alps aftermarket decal producer myself). But they are sharp, clean, and somewhat cheaper than photoetch.

My understanding is that photo etch should be attached using some type of super glue (crazy glue). That is a very scary prospect using that type of glue on a nice shiny polished paint job.

No, no, no! NEVER attach photoeteched emblems with super glue. Use either clear 5-minute epoxy, or better get, brush a tiny dab of clear enamel or acrylic on the spot where the emblem goes, let it tack up for a minute or two, and then attach the emblem using tweezers. This will give you plenty of time to finesse the emblem and get it placed exactly in the right spot.

Thanks for the tip. Can you tell I use to model aircraft and tanks. I used many photo etch details sets, but again we always used crazy glue to attach but again 90% was attached before painting.

So would Keith Marks be the best way to go or is there an aftermarket company that makes photo etch emblem stickers like the ones you find in the Tamiya car kits?