Model Cars Magazine Forum

2013 Danko Dodge Charger - finished!

Larryhagmansliver

It could really use the fender scoop details, the wider rear fenders, the shaker scoop and the black out treatment, you know make it look sort of like the concept car picture.

What happened to the front wheel wells?

Huh? The inner wheel wells are completely stock. All that was changed on the chassis was I shortened the front a bit.

As for the other details, I'm not an expert at this or anything I was just having fun. Kinda the point...isn't it?

I'm surprised that they are "stock". I mean all the other ones I have seen, as well as the box art look like this:

rmxs4225_zpsc8c3d588.jpg

revell-2007-dodge-charger-srt8-super-bee

(I am referring to the body fenderwells, not the inner fenders indide the body. Notice the shape?)

Not so much like this:

dankochargermodel010.jpg

If I got a kit with that much distortion I'd have exchanged it for a good one.

Yes I agree fully, having fun is a main reason to build. But from the statement that you were building a model based on that cool concept, wouldn't it be reasonable to expect it to have some of the prominent features that make it that cool car? One doesn't have to be an expert to copy from pictures...

You went to the point of scratchbuilding the taillight, that's more effort than most put into their models.

:

Yes I agree fully, having fun is a main reason to build. But from the statement that you were building a model based on that cool concept, wouldn't it be reasonable to expect it to have some of the prominent features that make it that cool car? One doesn't have to be an expert to copy from pictures...

And Neil never said he was going to build an exact replica. From what I see, he took some elements from the concept car and made it his own. If he likes the car, then it's a success!