Model Cars Magazine Forum

Tamiya Jaguar XJR-9 Le Mans

Wendall

I used to build model cars as a teenager but this is my first build for about 12 years. The skills are a little rusty and I haven't kept any of my old builds so I have nothing to compare it to. I'm reasonably pleased with it and I learned a lot. I'm trying to make every build better and more detailed than the last and I'm getting loads of tips and ideas around here so thanks guys :D.

So here it is, the Le Mans winning Jaguar XJR-9. Any comments or criticisms most welcome.

Thanks for looking

J

post-12427-0-07117400-1378996660_thumb.j

post-12427-0-26464000-1378996677_thumb.j

post-12427-0-54343100-1378996687_thumb.j

If that's the results you get with rusty skills, I'd hate to see what you get with clean, sharp skills. The decal work can not have been easy yet it looks like everything is in its right place. Did you do any polishing after the clear coat? Are all the decals under clear coat? Your panel-line accenting looks just right. How'd you do that?

Thanks for the great comments Guys, much appreciated!

If that's the results you get with rusty skills, I'd hate to see what you get with clean, sharp skills. The decal work can not have been easy yet it looks like everything is in its right place. Did you do any polishing after the clear coat? Are all the decals under clear coat? Your panel-line accenting looks just right. How'd you do that?

Hi Curtis!

The decals were a mammoth challenge for me, Nearly ended up in the bin on one occasion (temper, temper) when they were all on I clear coated over them. I then wet flatted the clear coat using micromesh and polished it back up to a shine. The panel lines are a very thin light grey wash, just load up a very fine brush and let capillary action do the rest.

Cheers

J