Academy

8 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

I was just curious, I have a chance to get a kit subject I've always wanted, but its made by Academy. I have no experience with this manufacturer .. I've been bitten before by "off brand" kits.. Example; the Yodel Plymouth Fury.. great box art .. horrible kit ..

Posted · Report post

What kit is it you are interested in?

Academy has made some nice aircraft and armor kits but I'm not to sure about their car kits.

Posted · Report post

There are a couple, BMW 635 and the Lamborghini Countach ..

Posted · Report post

Sorry Dan, I don't have experience with either kit.

I did a quick look around on the net and found this video where the kit is unboxed. Not really a review but maybe it gives you an idea of what to expect.

The BMW starts around the 8 min point.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mCif8J_xspA

Rob

Posted · Report post

Academy is usually co-branded with Minicraft these days. A very large number of their kits are re-boxed versions from a variety of other manufacturers, so it's a mixed bag for quality.

Posted · Report post

Yeah, I saw that vid too,not a whole lot of info in it but thank you for taking the time to look it up. . I guess for $9 plus shipping I can take the chance ..

Posted · Report post

Academy is usually co-branded with Minicraft these days. A very large number of their kits are re-boxed versions from a variety of other manufacturers, so it's a mixed bag for quality.

That's good info. The aforementioned video on YouTube makes me think "90's fujimi /testors" type of stuff.. not the best, but certainly not the worst ..

Posted · Report post

The Academy-Minicraft relationship ended at least 10 years ago. They have nothing to do with each other now. Academy is now imported by MRC.