Model Cars Magazine Forum

I just joined

Well it looks like I will be returning to the days of my youth. I just sold the last of my real (full size) Corvettes. My health dictates that I no longer can crawl around and under these big cars anymore and since my driving is limited I might as well give them up.

My Steel Blue Metallic 91 coupe just drove off with its new owner last week. He also bought my air compressor and paint guns.

My extensive set of tools that I have been building up since age 16 (1961) left today with a young mechanic trainee from Naperville, Illinois.

When I was a kid back in the 50s and 60s my friends and I used to build model cars. We would swap parts and try to make ours look cool and custom. We would then proceed to blow them up with firecrackers after we tired of them and proceed to move on to the next ones. What fools we were!

I plan to take the hobby up again but since it has been 50+ years since my last build I have a few questions?

1. Where do I buy the kits?

2. Can I use automotive spray touch up paint to paint my new models?

3. Is there a place to purchase custom wheels, tires, etc?

I owned 6 different Corvettes over the years. I would like to recreate those cars and plan to paint them in the same colors as they were when I owned them along with using the custom wheels I had at the time.

My first project will be a black 1965 Corvette convertible with a white interior and white top. It will have to be a 4 speed, 327 and have Goodyear Blue Streak tires along with Torque Thrust D wheels.

Where do I begin to look for this model?

I'm retired from the US Army Reserve and Active Duty and also the civilian health care (Radiology) world and have time on my hands.

Hopefully this will be a much less expensive hobby than the big Corvette world. :mellow:

Welcome! For each question you just asked, there are multiple answers here on this forum that will help.