Model Cars Magazine Forum

69 nova big tire car and turbo cobra mustang

teamstorm02

Starting on my girlfriends and my car.. basically going to build what our real cars will be. She wants hers to be like murder nova from street outlaws. I'm new to all this so it's not nearly as nice as some of you guys out there can do.. but thought I'd give it a try. I can't seem to post pictures from my phone so I'll have to wait till I get home.

well here is what i started with. a 99 cobra mustang

20150112_150629_zpsdjpkdgqd.jpg

and i started by making a custom howl hood since i couldnt find anyone who makes them for this car.

20150112_154146_zps4arrtpoc.jpg

and since i really dont know how to use styrene like a lot of you guys i just filled the bottom half with filler... hopefully i learn how to use this styrene sheet stuff better than i can now in the future.

20150112_162125_zpszrao2pju.jpg

20150113_200717_zpsmi1kft7s.jpg

still needs a ton of work but im making some progress.. i really want to learn how some of you do such great detail work!

here are the models together primed up.. like i said the mustang was still rough and the bumper needs some TLC to look correct.

20150115_174225_zpsn1bo10j5.jpg

here is the motor im building for the nova.. had to cut down the intake manifold so i could get the hood to close.. btw its a cowl hood... the one on the car now isnt the hood that will be on the car.

20150116_211001_zpszsiwiuyx.jpg

20150116_211029_zpskbewniii.jpg

little preview of the mustang with the wheels in.. but the body was just resting on them

20150117_134913_zpsdob3mjjj.jpg

started putting the rear wing on the nova and built struts for it

20150118_084140_zpsjeea4tli.jpg

20150118_084153_zpsycjjm8px.jpg

20150118_175240_zpsb7mgbe1d.jpg

the girlfriend like i said wants it to look like murder novas car from street outlaws so shes gettin flat black treatment

20150118_185932_zpsyerpoaks.jpg