Model Cars Magazine Forum

Ford Y-block engine WIP - finished 4/29/15 (busted photo links fixed, 3/7/16)

Russell C

First, I'm no expert on engines, but with enough observations of reference photos, I can usually get a majority of details right that I'm not overly criticized by detail purists. My NASCAR Mercedes 4-cylinder engine and my Top Fuel 4x4 7-cylinder engine, for example.

Here's the starting collection of a Y-block out of the AMT '56 Ford Crown Vic, with just a bit of preliminary work on creating a separate starter, getting the tube on the front ready for a separate chrome cap, separate pulleys, and the beginnings of a lathe-turned aluminum alternator. It has a watch gear as the fins part and another pressed steel watch part that I will alter in order to kill the proverbial "floating alternator" problem. Not seen on the other side is the shaved-off oil filter, that's what the new white motor tool-turned white plastic thing is toward the back. The intake has a new bit on the front to make installing a radiator hose work better, and I think I can get away with using my long left-over set of Holley dual quad carburetors out of the Quicksilver kit (scratch that, see correction in post #35), but I will have to separate 'em and turn 'em sideways like this guy did. (I wont tell anyone they're 24th scale if you don't)

After rummaging through enough reference pics, it begins to look like the AMT Crown Vic engine is not all that great of a representative of a Y-block, but oh well. Good enough for jazz in my case. I'm not using the kit tranny, and the reason for that will become obvious a bit later.

Y-block parts.JPG

Edited by Russell C
fixed busted photo links caused when forum was upgraded