Model Cars Magazine Forum

Tamiya Skyline 2000-GTR

SelineManson

Another day another Skyline :lol:
This time I'm going old skool! I love all the extras this kit comes with! I've never worked with anything photo etched before so I'm very excited to start putting everything together! Not sure i'll paint the little man up, but we'll see.
Thinking of going with black and red two-tone on this one.

The kit:
30605333928_31b55cf850_c.jpg

30605332818_e4169f2faa_c.jpg

44425304622_2340f0e5ea_c.jpg

As usual work starts with finding and removing all the mold seams:
30605330618_f98a46886c_c.jpg

29537069317_842fa65e6a_c.jpg

29537068317_6d58f416e5_c.jpg

That's all for now! :)

3 hours ago, Italianhorses said:

What is "guide coat"?

You spray a light misty coat of black over your primer, and then wet sand it down until all the black is gone. The idea is that the black will get trapped inside tiny scratches and imperfections that you might miss by eye, so they'll stick out and you can see them more easily so that you can fix any imperfections before you spray your colour coats instead of  spotting something after when it's too late.

It's a trick most body shops use before they spray cars or repairs, I do it all the time. Doesn't really scale down so well but it still has the intended effect. :)

8 minutes ago, SelineManson said:

You spray a light misty coat of black over your primer, and then wet sand it down until all the black is gone. The idea is that the black will get trapped inside tiny scratches and imperfections that you might miss by eye, so they'll stick out and you can see them more easily so that you can fix any imperfections before you spray your colour coats instead of  spotting something after when it's too late.

It's a trick most body shops use before they spray cars or repairs, I do it all the time. Doesn't really scale down so well but it still has the intended effect. :)