Model Cars Magazine Forum

Simulated metal paint

I was sitting here thinking about options other than what I have been using for painting transmissions, driveshafts, exhaust pipes, aluminum intake manifolds, etc. I'm referring to bare metal but here's the twist,  I prefer to brush paint these items.  Just so many times, bare metal finishes just don't look accurate.

I'm really interested in the "experts" feedback.

*** I am not an Expert***

That is going to be hard, anything meant to replicate a metal finish is going to be metallic, brushing metallic paint rarely gives great results if the surface is very big. 

If the surface is right, you could use bare metal foil. I have used that or air conditioning style tape (Aluminum tape) and had good results. However I have used it on flatter surfaces. An engine or trans would be difficult to do. 

7 minutes ago, Oldmopars said:

*** I am not an Expert***

That is going to be hard, anything meant to replicate a metal finish is going to be metallic, brushing metallic paint rarely gives great results if the surface is very big. 

If the surface is right, you could use bare metal foil. I have used that or air conditioning style tape (Aluminum tape) and had good results. However I have used it on flatter surfaces. An engine or trans would be difficult to do. 

Currently I use Model Master Aluminum, Steel, and Chrome dulled with acrylic flat. I also have an old bottle of Model Master Metalizzer Magnesium that is supposed to be sprayed but I brush it and it doesn't look too bad.  As for BMF, it is my go to for chrome trim.   I was just wondering what others use.