Model Cars Magazine Forum

Chossing the right airbrush gun

Hello to everyone. I am very new to airbrushing, I am no atist by any means. I have been putting model cars together for about 4 months now, and never used an airbrush gun. I recently bought two guns --- a Paasche VL and a Badger 350, and was also given a Matco 150-IL....... However I have no idea if these guns are for a more experienced artist, and if these are mainly for detail, but this is what i am trying to accomplish....... i just want to paint the outside shell of a model car, and have it look good. I hand brush all the smaill detail parts for the time beng. I use the basic Testors and model master paint, all acrylic. i'm not trying to get fancy just yet with two tones, or anything detailed just yet, just one color. Can someone receommend which one of three airbrush guns I have listed above is the best to work with with as I learn, or maybe i should buy a 4th one. Any and all advice would be very helpful.

Doug, the Paasche should serve you well if all you want it to apply a nice coat of paint. Many of us here use the Paasche H with very good results.

The way to approach is not to be fearful of it. Practice on scrap styrene and you'll start getting good results soon enough.

MCM Ohana, what does 2:1 thinner/paint ratio mean exactly?

I believe that for Testors/Model Masters enamels the ratio is 2 parts paint to one part thinner. (I use lacquer thinner per Donn Yost's suggestion)

Example: Dump 2 jars of paint into a larger jar. Fill one of the paint jars with thinner and dump that in too. Shake and spray.

Edited by rhs856

Randall, thank you for that breakdown..... i was wondering if their was a difference between paint thinner, lacquer thinner, mineral spirits, airbrush thinner, or paint thatsimply states on the label already reduced. all this confusing.