Model Cars Magazine Forum

I'm putting together a revell 54 chevy panel custom. Right now I'm working on cleaning up the body. There are a bunch of mold lines to get rid of plus I'm removing the factory style rain drip rails that were molded in. who here has built this truck? Do you have any tips for me remember I'm just starting to learn how to add extra details. When I get to the engine I'm using the street version 409. It will probably take me a long time to get things right and I'm sure I'll be asking a ton of questions.

Thanks Dave..

The fender skirts have an extra piece of styrene laminated on the bottom half to allow for

the curvature of the skirt. This was done with making a pattern first out of

those subscription cards that fall out of magazines. After making the skirts

I glued thin styrene tabs on them and glued them on from the inside.

I didn't paint or prime them separately because there has to be a seam when installed.

Mine are the flush mounted type as aposed to bubble type skirts that cover the wheel well

all together.

James aka Joker

Today I've have been continuing to prep the body I've been holding off doing anything until I buy a compressor for my air brush. IMG040.jpg this is the direction I'm thinking of going. Using those rims and tires and putting a 235ci. With a different intake dual or trip carbs? I'm nervous about doing that because it will be the first time I hacked up a frame.

Not a whole bunch done pretty much prepping parts still while I wait for some $$ & time to grab my air compressor. I did do a little frame work IMG047.jpg I dremmeled a tiny bit off the front axle so the tires sit better in the frame. Removed the molded in gas tank. I need to figure out my crooked frame. I also want to drop the rear like I did my front.