Model Cars Magazine Forum

On Trying to Enhance the Hobby-A Call to Arms

I am a model car builder and say so proudly. I have been at it, with a few hiatus, since the age of 5 in '52 when my same age uncle and I put masking tape on '52 Pontiac promo's to "customize" them. I have had my day in the sun, no pun intended since I live here in South Florida, and after a long retirement of entering contests, I am competitively active again.

South Florida is no different than the rest of the country. Many hobby shops have closed here, and the remaining ones are not as enthusiastic carrying plastic as they once were, opting for RC to pay their rent and keep them alive.

I still have vivid memories of the sixties and seventies when there seemed to be always a model car contest. Between my model car club with its bi-weekly intraclubs, to the 10 hobby shops and Ben Franklins throwing local and Pactra/Testors/Revell contests. I won a share of them in Ft. Lauderdale, and now that I am probably the last one down here still building, I am looked at, uncomfortablly, as a local legend. I am always asked what it was like then, or is this the golden age?

The answer to the second question is yup and nope at the same time. First, with modern tools, technology, availability of parts, materials and supplies, not even to cover paint and glues, there is no time better to build a plastic model car, bar NONE. But what hurts is our environment. After surfing for many years, and seeing a movement against surfing contests, I watched that sport decline only to see it rebirth itself when contests got back in vogue.