Forum will be Offline for Server Maintenance ×
Model Cars Magazine Forum

First Post

Hi folks this my first post.

I am a Mopar guy but will ocasionally build others also.

I'm just getting started in the modeling hobby with my first build being a 70 Roadrunner.

I dont have a airbrush so I will be using spray can's and brush painting the really small stuff.

What color is best for exhaust systems and gas tanks?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to being here with everyone.

Hi folks this my first post.

I am a Mopar guy but will ocasionally build others also.

I'm just getting started in the modeling hobby with my first build being a 70 Roadrunner.

I dont have a airbrush so I will be using spray can's and brush painting the really small stuff.

What color is best for exhaust systems and gas tanks?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to being here with everyone.

Well most exuast systems contain more than 1 type of metal, but the majority of it is Aluminum, and Steel. I personally use Aluminum for the mufflers, and cats, and steel for the exhaust tubing. As for fuel tanks Being a Mopar Muscle guy myself, they had a habit of painting them a gold color, according to most Mopar sources.

Hope this Helps and Welcome to MCM

Your local hobby shop should carry the Testors Metallizer line in spray cans .They provide a realistic finish that drys in a matter of seconds . I would suggest the buffing formula , gently rub the painted piece with a soft piece of t shirt , it will give you a nice polished surface that looks authentic . I use the aluminum , steel , and gun metal colors on a regular basis . Great for exhaust systems , manifolds , valve covers , etc !

Donn Yost

I learned a trick. If you use Testor's aluminum brush paint(enamel), you can use a q-tip and rub hardly on the metal! It creates a more realistic appearance. :lol:

To clarify Andy-

Do you mean "rub hard," as in to use more pressure when buffing the paint?

-or-