Model Cars Magazine Forum

Americans start forum about Russian cars.

Two Americans have started a forum about Russian cars:

http://russiancars.lefora.com/headlines/

Hi Mark, I'm no expert but personally I think Russian cars are more 'interesting', than anything else to get the pulse racing.

Many of the luxury types were based on out of date US models I have been led to believe and were either great or terrible. The smaller cars! err 2 stroke Moskvitches, Lada's based on Fiats and other stuff like that.

I think I have the copy of Motor trend where the guy sneaks one back to the USA under the Ruskies noses.

An interesting post, thanks. Though I wonder what would have happened if you had an interest in Russian cars in the McCarthy era :lol:

As a side note, a few years back, here in the UK someone had imported one of those Trabants and tried to sell it for around £10 000 ;) Was advertised as a unique opportunity to own the only one in England around the time the wall came down. Now there are lots of the darn things GRRRRrrrr

John

Hi Mark, I'm no expert but personally I think Russian cars are more 'interesting', than anything else to get the pulse racing.

Many of the luxury types were based on out of date US models I have been led to believe and were either great or terrible. The smaller cars! err 2 stroke Moskvitches, Lada's based on Fiats and other stuff like that.

I think I have the copy of Motor trend where the guy sneaks one back to the USA under the Ruskies noses.

An interesting post, thanks. Though I wonder what would have happened if you had an interest in Russian cars in the McCarthy era <_<

As a side note, a few years back, here in the UK someone had imported one of those Trabants and tried to sell it for around £10 000 :rolleyes: Was advertised as a unique opportunity to own the only one in England around the time the wall came down. Now there are lots of the darn things GRRRRrrrr

John

John,