Model Cars Magazine Forum

Painting/supplies for beginners

So I've been collecting models for a while now...mainly Japanese sports cars(Tamiya, Aoshima, Fujimi) and I've finally decided to take the plunge and start building them. I decided to start with a Tamiya 180SX as it looks to be the simplest and one of the more ordinary cars I have. So I washed the parts off in soapy water, rinsed and dried them. I'm using tamiya paints. Well....3 brush strokes in and i'm disapointed lol. I purchased some golden synthetic brushes to use. I started painting the back seats in the interior tub and it didn't go to well. I can see the brush strokes. It almost seems like its drying to fast? It gets all "gloopy" as i'm painting. I made sure to shake n stir for several minutes. I don't really want to drop the cash on an airbrush while i'm still a beginner.

Now I know this first model is going to be far from perfect, but i'd like to be at least satisfied that I made a good starting point.

Any tips for the new guy? Do I need to use different brushes? Does the paint need to be thinned? Do I need to prime an interior tub? Any paint tips would be really appreciated, thank you!

post-14468-0-08337200-1410908163.jpg

Edited by Machina_Zero

I think spray cans may be the answer. trying to get a good finish with a brush is nearly impossible in my opinion. Go get yourself a couple of cans of spray paint, Tamiya, Testors, whatever. That's where I would start. If you want to use brush paints for your interior & the like, I would use flat paints. They dry much flatter & smoother than gloss paints. You can always spray a gloss or satin clear over it to get the finish you want. Steve