Model Cars Magazine Forum

Where to get PreThinned Acrylic paint for my airbrush?

I just picked up an airbrush yesterday to start working on the Model my wife got me a month ago. I was just going to use the enamel testor stuff, but after some research I might want to use some acrylic paint instead. Since I am new at this it would be awesome if there was a place (online) that offered acrylic paint that was already pre-thinned, so I wont have to worry about if I did it right or not. Also if I use acrylic paint what will water be alright to clean between colors and after painting?

That's where I was before I post this message. They had allot of enamels and some acrylic paints. Before going there I was watching a video on YouTube and this dude stated he buys his paints pre-thinned. Now I don't remember what I was watching. Also do you guys prime your model before painting, or just specific parts?

Edited by jpedersm

I would suggest that if you want to learn how to paint models with acrylics, you view Chapman's utube vidios on the subject. He has it down and can show you how to do it. This is one of his posts in on this board. http://www.modelcarsmag.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=86040. I use acrylics with great success. It's a learning process.

Some people decant model spray paint into an airbrush paint jar. It's already thinned. Tamiya have lots of colors, but of course you could mix custom shades, too.