Model Cars Magazine Forum

Painting in an apartment

As stated, I'm in an apartment. There are several dilemmas I face currently...

It's getting colder in NJ. I'm new to painting models but I'm almost positive spray painting outside in this kind of weather (45 degrees) isn't good for my project. Can anyone chime in on that?

Also, I'm starting a project right now. Of course there are a million small pieces. Do you have to sand all of them? Also, does EVERYTHING get primed? (I did wash everything in soap and water before I started the build)

I use Testors enamel paints with a paint brush on the interior. I'm probably doing something wrong because when I paint the seats or large interior surfaces, the paint doesn't look uniform and it looks sloppy.

I would love to learn how to airbrush but that's not even close to being in my budget now so I'll have to use spray cans and the enamel.

One thing at a time.

1. The million small pieces. Every one of them probably has a mold line that needs to be removed. If the part is going to be flat black or silver, I don't usually prime. If it's going to be body color, it gets primed.

2. Bottle and brush paints are for details only in my opinion. Near everything can and should be spray painted. Krylon has a nice line of flat paints that work great for interiors.

3. Nothing wrong with spray paints. Don't sweat it. 

4. The cold. Here's what I have done. Fill a pot with hot tap water. Set the can of paint in the tap water for about ten minutes. Keep the plastic at room temp and set them up on a paper plate or something you can carry easliy. Remove the paint from the water, dry the can, and shake thoroughly. Grab the plastic, step outside, spray in a windless area. Step back inside and let the parts dry in a place where you can control the amount of dust at, room temperature.