Model Cars Magazine Forum

Louvers, Louvers and Louvers...

curt raitz

Using the article in the 1st Motor Racing Replica News (Jan/Feb 1991) as a guide, I finally have got the gumption to build a model of the Bugatti Type 32, the "Tank Car".

Yes Raul, I've gone totally nuts...it's verifiable. :(

bugatti_t32_2-vi.jpg

bugattitype32tank-vi.gif

As ya see, there's a bunch of louvers...

I'm using .020 plastic for the body panels, was thinkin' about printers plate...but decided plastic was a better medium.

:rolleyes: Biggest problem I'm encountering is the louvers for this car... :blink:

I've never done louvers before, does anyone out there have any tips or suggestions on how to make'em?

gratefull for any help ya can bring my way

First off, to Curt, what a fabulous subject to model. Can't wait to see you build it. Secondly, to Tommy, what a clear and workable tutorial. I asked about louvers last year and wish I had seen something this well done. If there's a builder who can get great results from this method I think it might be you, Curt. Go for it!

Edited by gbk1

Using the article in the 1st Motor Racing Replica News (Jan/Feb 1991) as a guide, I finally have got the gumption to build a model of the Bugatti Type 32, the "Tank Car".

Yes Raul, I've gone totally nuts...it's verifiable. :blink:

As ya see, there's a bunch of louvers...

I'm using .020 plastic for the body panels, was thinkin' about printers plate...but decided plastic was a better medium.

:wub: Biggest problem I'm encountering is the louvers for this car... ;)

I've never done louvers before, does anyone out there have any tips or suggestions on how to make'em?

gratefull for any help ya can bring my way

But the real question should be: "how you're going to attach those really nicely built louvers to the hunk of Pine that you'll be using to craft that stylized body?!!" :lol::lol:

You are too much!!

Good luck, my old friend!!

Later,

Hey Curt :D

WHAT A WAY-COOL PROJECT :lol: .