Model Cars Magazine Forum

Milner’s coupe from American Graffiti

Bryce

This is a project I’ve been working on for about 15 years - a replica of John Milner’s coupe from the movie American Graffiti. I know it’s been done a million times before but I tried to make mine as accurate as possible.

It’s based on the Revell ’32 roadster kit and uses a home made resin body I created by grafting the chopped AMT roof onto the Revell roadster body. The rest is either sourced from another kit or scratchbuilt.

img_2323.jpg

img_2324.jpg

img_2325.jpg

img_2326.jpg

img_2327.jpg

img_2328.jpg

img_2329.jpg

img_2330.jpg

img_2331.jpg

I’m a bit over this one and can’t really be bothered going into it, so here’s a link to a WIP if you’re looking for a bit more detail:

http://amcc.forum-motion.com/the-workshop-...-coupe-t299.htm

I am as far away from an expert on that movie and the related cars as one can be, but your build certainly looks like the car that I remember. I know there is a lot of different ideas as to the "right" body and proportions, but this what I remember. I remember seeing an article in Scale Model about 12 or 15 years ago where a modeler from Japan (I think), had built all of the cars (this coupe, 55 and 58 Chevy's and the Merc) along with the figures. I remember being more impressed with the figure modeling then the cars, although the cars were great looking, the figures were spot on. Anyway, your coupe looks really nice and certainly worth the time you spent on it.

Very nice and highly accurate build, Bryce!!

The only thing you didn't show us a picture of is the glove box full of speeding tickets!! :D

I remember that movie VERY well. I was a senior in high school when it came out...and that's as far as we'll dive into that story on this forum... :D

Thanks for sharing,