Model Cars Magazine Forum

My First Airbrush - Shopping list

Hi all,

Buying my first airbrush and I want to make sure I get everything I need. I'm an experienced builder but hanvet used an AB since I was a kid. Getting back into it and dont want to miss any essentials. Looking for advice on anything I might be missing from this list or on the items themselves. Thank you!\

My First Airbrush

Iwata Revolution CR

Iwata Medea Compressor - do I need an Iwata? Or is there a less expensive model that will work just as well?

Iwata Spray-Out Pot

AB Cleaning Tools - Do I really need these? Is there a better set to get?

Vallejo Airbrush Thinner

Iwata Airbrush Cleaner

Anything else I need? Any recs on a good set of "starter paints"? I'm doing a military themed vehicle so that might suggest the color selection I'll need....

Thank you all!

Rob

If you want to save some money, here are my suggestions.

Airbrush: Paasche H Simple, cheap and does a great job. About $40 to $60

Compressor: Go to Harbor Freight and buy a decent one for around $100. While there, pick up their airbrush cleaner brush set and their spray out pot. Look for coupons.

For cleaning, I use lacquer thinner (Walmart, 1 gallon about $15) for lacquers and enamels or 91% isopropyl alcohol (Walmart, about $3) for acrylics.

You'll need to decide what type of paint you're going to use. If fumes are an issue, you'll probably be using acrylics. I'm using Createx right now and like it.

Edited by Miatatom

Something not many people think about, lube. It's not necessary, but it will make an airbrush work and stay working very smoothly.

I would avoid a HF compressor, they might work for a while, but what happens when you need to replace a part? Look on ebay for a compressor, I bought two on there very cheap, one was brand new and one had abut 15 minutes of use, both were way less than $100.

You don't need any special tools to clean an airbrush, acid brushes, rags and pipe cleaners will do the job just fine.