Model Cars Magazine Forum

Group B rally car with engine detail?

Hi
I am interested in building an old group b rally car. I am looking for one that has full engine detail, but one that will fit together nicely without too much issues. I am not good at scratchbuilding and typically it ends in failure when i attempt it. i prefer hatchback style cars, but it certainly doesnt have to be a hatch. I have been searching for 2 days, but my google skills seemed to have failed me.

are there any current kits out there that have full engine detail? I am located in the USA, but will order overseas if the kit is good quality.

i recently found kits by plats/nunu on the hiroboy site, but it looks like they are curbside

any help would be greatly appreciated.

You're asking for something many Americans aren't into to begin with.  This genre of race kits generally doesn't have engines, I can't think of any that do.  If anything, it's just the top and bottom, like a glorified curbside.  My favorite is the Audi Quattro, got the Profil 24 resin kit, before Beemax introduced theirs, which needed the USCP engine.  Have you looked through the Spot Model website?

17 minutes ago, 89AKurt said:

You're asking for something many Americans aren't into to begin with.  This genre of race kits generally doesn't have engines, I can't think of any that do.  If anything, it's just the top and bottom, like a glorified curbside.  My favorite is the Audi Quattro, got the Profil 24 resin kit, before Beemax introduced theirs, which needed the USCP engine.  Have you looked through the Spot Model website?

they have a lot of nice kits. i looked through them and it gave me good ideas for research.

generally, how are hasegawa kits? do they fit together ok?