Model Cars Magazine Forum

32 Ford Sedan

ybsluos

Hi friends.  This is my first time posting pictures of one of my builds.  My apologies for poor quality pictures.  I got this as a built up from a friend.  It is the AMT 32 Sedan from the vintage kit including the Willys.  It was painted matte red and had the decal on the roof.  Those familiar with the kit will recall the side pipes which ran across the doors.  I remove them and found that the glue had melted into the body and I wanted to clean that up and re-scribe the door lines. I wanted to keep the original red paint so I decided to tape the car off and paint some of it matte black.  
I scratchbuilt a simple roll bar and added seat belts.  The gas tank is polished aluminum tube with actual .22 shell casings epoxied into the ends.  I made windows from acetate brush painted Tamiya Transparent  yellow on the insides.  
The SOHC 427 is an AMT 33 Willys piece from my parts box with MPC Dominator carbs and velocity stacks from a Monogram street machine kit(not sure which one).  
The chassis is grossly simplified and would never really work in 1:1.  I had an assembled Tom Daniel T’Rantula front tire/wheel combo and the suspension from another friend and when I mocked it up it set at the desired stance so on it went, functionality be darned!  I made a belly pan of sorts to cover the rear half of the chassis so there is no rear suspension.  

I wanted a surfboard but did not wish to permanently block the Witch Doctor decal.  I scratched a quick and dirty rack made with brass rod and U channel styrene so that the board may be slid in and out of the rack.

Lastly I painted the lettering on the doors and surfboard with heavily thinned acrylic craft store white.  I am no artist so I will tell you the blob between the words on the surfboard are supposed to be crossed bones!  Aarrgghh!  I scratched the whole car and board with an X-Acto to beat it up a bit.