Model Cars Magazine Forum

Returning after a 17 year hiatus

A few weeks ago I was rummaging around in my mother in laws basement and I came across my stock pile of unbuilt models, which led me to the four completed models I had decided were work keeping all those years ago.

I bought them all home with me and unpacked them to inspect the damage. Nothing too serious (wheels, mirrors, exhausts falling off). I got to work repairing them so that I can display them in my WFH office and suddenly a fire ignited in me to dive back into the hobby head first. I had unearthed all my modeling supplied about 2 years ago when I started playing DND and starting painting minitures, but I did spend the the next few afternoons organizing my tools and paints. I had a lot of fun repairing the old models and then set them up for a little photo shoot:

spacer.png

Completed in 2006

large.2024_03.07-x100s-S2000mu-7CooperAc

Completed in 2005. First and only Fujimi kit, I ordered it from Japan on 1999.co.jp after seeing it featured in Super Street Magazine and I also ordered RE Amemiya AW-7 rims to match the magazine. 

spacer.png

Completed in 2006. First time attemping engine detail (plug wires, brake lines, Detail Master velocity stacks on the carbs). I actually won this kit after a first place finish at an RC car race in Orlando. 

spacer.png

Completed 2007. Time was not kind to the decals. I also didn't use any softening or setting solution or clear coat over the top.