Model Cars Magazine Forum

Decal solvent

So I’ve heard about decal solvent, and how it makes applying decals much easier.

I’ve always struggled with this part of modeling. I’ll get the build right up till it’s time to add decals.

Is there a specific solution anyone uses to make this a less dreadful process.

please call out your favorite brand and how it works.

I have always preferred good ol' Micro Set and Micro Sol. I can't think of an instance in which they failed me. I have heard some guys say there are certain decal manufacturers on whose decals they don't really have an effect. I haven't run across that instance, however.

• Like 1

I use Solvaset by Walthers. They have been making it since 1934.......I've been using it for 40 years.

As a decal manufacture ....here is my way....

Regardless of decal type here is how I apply decals.

I cut the decal from the sheet as close to the image as possible. I have a small pair of scissors that are sharp and easy to cut around small images.

Using tweezers I dip the decal in warm water for about 10 seconds.

I place decal on a damp paper towel and allow the decal to ‘cook’ as its called. This can vary by decal paper maker. It can be anywhere from 30 seconds to a minute or two. When decal moves easily on paper backing it is ready to apply.

On surface of model put two or three drops of water. With tweezers place decal on model body where you want to apply. With your finger move the decal image off the paper just enough to use your tweezers to pull the decal paper from under the decal image. This will keep as much air out from under the decal.

Position the decal image in the exact spot you wan tit. With the slightly damp paper towel blot the water from the decal.