Model Cars Magazine Forum

IMC model car promo poster!

This looks vaguely familiar. I think there was a flyer or order form for posters that came with the 1/20 IMC dune buggy kit; anybody have one to check?

Good memory. There is a mini poster like this on the 1/20 IMC Dune Buggy kit's decal sheet:

$_57.JPG

Oh man that is so cool. Seems to me its more Laugh-in related then G.T.O. related. It is now my mission to find the others and a decal sheet. Lol. Could you just buy these posters back in the day?

The name for the Pontiac GTO option came from the Laugh In skit, so they are related. The "very interesting" and "sock it to me" mini posters are Laugh In tie-ins, too, but I got nothing on the "Running Bare Park" poster as far as being Laugh In related.

No idea on the posters, but I wouldn't mind seeing others.

Hard to say, but I would guess this poster was intended to be a hobby shop or store display. I'm no IMC expert, but they had a brief moment of glory when Budd Anderson was there, then the company seemed to fizzle out by the early '70s, so there's not nearly as much ephemera for IMC as there is for Monogram, AMT, et al.

Either way I would frame it, hang it up, and enjoy looking at it. :)

Chris was right there was a coupon on the instructions, I cropped an ebay picture from a recent auction and one of the unique petals of the instruction sheet had the coupon on it. $2.00 for the posters, hope you got a deal at the sale

greg

post-13341-0-31094800-1394503571_thumb.j

Edited by GLMFAA1

• 9 months later...

Now that LRW poster is some killer artwork! Kinda surprised that Round 2 didn't tag their recent rerelease of that kit as IMC, instead of Lindberg, since they have retro artwork on the new box. Maybe they don't have rights to the IMC name, or maybe they don't need another brand in their arsenal, since they're already juggling 5 different model kit brands.