Model Cars Magazine Forum

Airbrushes

I'm in the market for a new airbrush, and I have a few questions.I have limited airbrush time but I use an Iwata sprayer with a 1.4 tip for DP-90 and a DeVilbiss with a 1.8 and up tip for primers almost daily (when I am working ) . I have a lot of experience with spraying, but I am NOT a painter. What is the average some of you more experienced airbrushers spend on a good airbrush. With regular cleaning and maintenance do they last pretty much forever like a real paint gun ? Any help is appreciated ...

Well, I am no expert, novice at best, but I started with a Badger 350, and hated it. No offence to Badger or those like Badger. I then spent the money for a dual stage air brush, and bought a Iwata Revolution. I could not be happier. In one of the threads I had posted, someone made the comment that I would actually love it. They where right. The message I learned is spend the money on good equipment, it is worth it in the end. I hope that helps.

I have a Badger 350 that I rarely use anymore, a Badger 155 that is still my fave when I'm painting car bodies, and a Renegade (Badger) Velocity for fine detail work. I recently picked up a Paasche Talon TG3F set on sale. It has three different needle and tip assemblies and is fast becoming my favorite of them all.

My compressor is a Bear Air basic with a really good regulator/moisture trap.

I like http://www.chicagoairbrushsupply.com/airbrushes1.html This is where I purchased the TG3F, it's $109.

G

Edited by Agent G

My primary A/B right now is an Iwata HP-BCS (love it), secondary for large work is my Badger Crescendo, sold the Paasche, and last but not least is my ultimate favorite prized piece which is an untouched brand new Thayer and Chandler. (cant bring myself to open the tie downs on it that hold it into the velvet case.)