Model Cars Magazine Forum

Removing Glue From Models?

Big, I'm not actually having an issue at the moment. I'm quite new to modeling and I thought I would ask this. I did search a few pages on the forum, but considering there are soooo much information, I thought I would start a thread. And then after starting the thread, I noticed the pinned post about how to search on this forum, which I didn't yet. I'm off today and I'm doing a bit of running around. But I guess my question was a general one to cover all types of adhesives.

I don't imagine there is a chemical that removes dry glue from a model kit without damaging the plastics, but if there is, I would love to know about it. Thanks

Clutch

The vast majority of plastic model kits get assembled with plastic cement, formulated for this purpose.  Virtually all plastic cements made for use on polystyrene plastic (which is what most model car kits are molded in) work by actually dissolving the mating surfaces which allows the parts to "weld" together.  So-called "Tube Glues" (think Testors in the orange tube here) have a thickening agent in them (most often cellulose) to give them some "body" , keep them from just running all over the place.  

If your intent is to disassemble a built model with minimal damage, the old trick of placing the model in a plastic bag, then putting water into that bag, finally putting it in the freezer does work--water as it freezes, expands in all directions--which can force the parts apart.  However, if what you are wanting to do is to remove the glue "residue" from the surfaces of polystyrene plastic model parts--anything that will dissolve the dried tube glue will also dissolve the plastic underneath or surrounding it.  Consequently, about the only way to "remove" those residues is with files and sandpaper--which can be done (I've done it several times over the years), takes time, and will require painting to hide the inevitable marks that remain.

Art