Forum will be Offline for Server Maintenance ×
Model Cars Magazine Forum

|55 Chevy Bel Air|

bluestringer

My last 2 builds have been disasters. The 69 Camaro and the 97 Mustang. Both were going good up until the body to chassis install. Could not get either one to fit, I was just breaking off stuff trying to get them right. I'm moving on to something else. This is the AMT 55 Chevy kit. I hope the body to chassis fit is better. I know most of these are done in a two tone paint job, but I'm going a different route. It will be one color from top to bottom, probably Createx Pearl Green. It will also have minimal chrome trim. Two reasons I'm going this way, first I saw one on the internet that was one color and thought it looked great that way, also I'm not good at masking and spraying a two tone paint. The one I saw also had only the main chrome on it, and I do not have enough foil to do it all anyway. I will be going slow with this build as I think I have been rushing my builds too much. All comments are welcome. 

_IGP0475.jpg

I'll be the first James.  I recently completed this one.20210727_132657.png.1da683d0c59e499a1947a840effc0d01.png

Yep, as you say, most are two tone.  The kit if done without alterations should come togather nicely. My problem was I mated the back half of the '66 Nova tubbed chassis to the front of the kit chassis and had issues. Would never do it again...was too much for my skill level.  As you can tell, these are not the kit wheels and tires, and the hood.

Anyway, good luck with it, you'll do fine.

1 hour ago, TransAmMike said:

I'll be the first James.  I recently completed this one.20210727_132657.png.1da683d0c59e499a1947a840effc0d01.png