Model Cars Magazine Forum

Newish to the hobby

I loved building models as a kid, but here I am again in my 30s playing with them again. I work as a sheet metal fabricator and shop foreman for a high-end antique car restoration shop. But I don’t get to keep all the cars for myself. I joined in hopes of finding some harder to find parts that I have had no luck finding or don’t have the energy to scratch build. 

i just completed my first model in 20+ years. The Revell 2-1 1929 Ford Model A. I did a bit of kit bashing, added some after market parts. Experimented with some newer products the hobby how has to offer vs 20+ years ago.

Has a early Hemi from a Moebius 1955 Chrysler 300 kit, some parts from a Lindburg 1964 Dodge 330 kit, some photo etch, home made stuff, stretched the frame 5”, used the front frame horns from the highboy option and PPG paint.

Currently working on my second project, a MPC Ramchargers FE AA/FD. Scratch built front axle, a lot of resin parts. 

B6149E15-3319-4F85-B0EF-4A9F391D571E.jpeg

DBBAEE44-3D14-485C-88EC-40F997E35C32.jpeg

Edited by GlueSniffer

11 minutes ago, vamach1 said:

Welcome back and your ride is amazing.  You will find a lot of talented and enthusiastic builders here and they are always willing to offer advice and tips on where the find unusual parts.

Thank you! I’m looking forward to anything I may learn here or even offer any help with my knowledge of paint or just general car questions. Ideally I would like to give as much as I take!

Wow, I would love to see some more about both of the models in the pictures.  The blueing on the header of the model A is as authentic as it gets.  And the number of fuel rails going to the carbs on the dragster is astounding.  That real world experience definitely shows in your builds.  

• Like 1

6 hours ago, BoxedWino said: