Model Cars Magazine Forum

International Harvester Scout II

*warning* I am a painfully slow builder, easily distracted by the next project :)

My Brother-in-Law gifted me the AMT/ERTL Scout II for Christmas last year (2022).  

If you're familiar with the kit, it's pretty simple.  But, there's no other Scout kit available to my knowledge.  I was happy to get it.

2023-07-18-22-31-01-287_orig.jpeg

Right out of the gate, I knew that the very minimum thing I would do would be to fill the large gaps between the chassis and the body.   

2023-07-18-22-30-00-013_orig.jpeg

In picking a color, decided to go with Tamiya's Coral Blue

2023-07-27-23-26-44-346_orig.jpeg

With a white top:

2023-07-31-07-34-06-940_orig.jpeg

I had this surf rack from some old Japanese detail set that I picked up years ago.  I think this Scout is Beach Bound!  I also shaved the door handles and plan to use Fireball's GM Truck handles.  

img-3923_orig.jpg

More to come.  I hope .... 

• Like 9

Like the color. Looks like they are including the V8 engine in this kit. Knew a guy who had one back when these were rooming the streets. His was the 4 cyl. What IH did was just like Pontiac when they did their 4 cyl for the Tempest. They both just lobed off the right cylinder bank from their V8 engines and that's how they created their basic 4 cyl. engines. 

7 hours ago, espo said:

Like the color. Looks like they are including the V8 engine in this kit. Knew a guy who had one back when these were rooming the streets. His was the 4 cyl. What IH did was just like Pontiac when they did their 4 cyl for the Tempest. They both just lobed off the right cylinder bank from their V8 engines and that's how they created their basic 4 cyl. engines. 

That's pretty cool!  I don't know a lot about IH, so I'm kind of winging it here.