Model Cars Magazine Forum

71-73 mustang

I think the only one available is the old MPC, repopped many times over the years, I believe sometimes in AMT boxes. I'm no expert on this gen of Stangs, but I've read a lot of posts from people who are who say there are all kinds of accuracy and detail problems with it. But for a "high school hot rod" as you mention, it ought to be good enough.

There's also a cheap diecast available--I bought this one a few years ago and did some paint detailing on it. Can't say how accurate it is but it looks kinda like one to me. Come to think of it, I might have seen these as unassembled kits in Testor boxes at Hobby Lobby or someplace, too.

71MustangAfter.jpg

Ah, the least loved of the original Mustangs, 1971 - 1973. So of course I love them. Snake is right, the only option for a somewhat stock/street version of that generation Mustang is the old MPC kit. Released several times under both the MPC and AMT banner. The last release I purchased and built was the one reissued as a '71 Boss 351. Ertl took the '73 MPC Mach 1 and with a grille insert tried to pass it off as a '71 Boss. It didn't work. The '71 Boss 351 came with a chrome bumper. This kit still had the slightly larger non-chrome '73 bumper. And from what I remember, the engines are kind of mess in this kit. Neither fish nor fowl? None of the variations are quite right? I may be wrong on this.

My solution in building this kit, was to try and build it somewhat close a '71 Mach 1. I got Mach 1 decals from Keith Marks and built mine to look like the car Sean Connery drove in Diamonds are Forever. Over all, other than the bumper being slightly larger than it was on the real '71s, it looks pretty good.

Scott