Model Cars Magazine Forum

Opinions on upgrading rare vintage cars

Hey guys, still new here and haven't posted anything yet. For my first real post, I thought I'd get some opinions on something I am struggling with a little.

I have a few older original issue cars I've acquired since getting back in the hobby. Nothing too crazy, mid 60's stuff, but kinda rare. I am wanting to take more detailed modern kits and kitbash these older ones for a more detailed finish. I have already started on one, a '66 Barracuda I'm building as a replica of my car, and am really happy with the results so far. But now I've acquired one I'm not sure I should change given it's rarity.

In the 1:1 world, where I've been playing for the last 30+ years, the same thing happens. You find some old 60's car you want to make into a hot rod, but you then decide it has too many rare options, or it's just too clean to modify. There is the old saying, "Anyone can restore a car, it takes a real man to cut one up.", but even the most inclined to hack away can find themselves questioning that philosophy once in a while with certain cars.

My current apprehension in the model world involves an older built, '67 Ford Fairlane I just acquired. I really needed a few '67 specific parts to make resin copies of for a '67 Ranchero project I'm getting ready to tackle, but then I'll have this Fairlane wanting attention. It's missing pieces and is kinda rough, but there's enough '67 specific parts there and it's totally savable. My first inclination is to pick up a '66 and upgrade it, but now I'm not sure. Looking around, it appears to be more rare than the others I've picked up, maybe I shouldn't bastardize it.

What would you guys do?