Model Cars Magazine Forum

Nifty Modelling Tools

If anyone has any nifty tools, especially ones that are not normally associated with model building...post them up!

I don’t know where I got this? I found it one day in the garage with a bunch of drill bits. It has three collets that will take anything from a #80 up to 1/16”.  I use it by hand, in my cordless drill and in my drill press. It runs very true.😁

BEFBE827-A18C-4BCD-B363-3F7C4F5F865F.jpeg

Edited by NOBLNG
  • Like 1

I brought this home with me from work after retiring last Fall and I use to use it to scribe plactic parts at work.  I was a CMM programmer in the Quality department for an Automotive company.  It now gets used to scribe panel lines.     

20210417_165702.jpg

20210417_165718.jpg

• Like 1

3 hours ago, NOBLNG said:

Maybe a thread like this should be a sticky? There are numerous threads on here about various tools. It would be nice to have them all in one place?

Not another sticky!  There are too many already.  But what would make sens is to un-stick all the stickies, then create a single-post  thread with an index to all those useful tutorials in this section of the forum  Index would simply be a single post with bunch of titles of the tutorials along with a link to each one. But just a URL link, not embedded thread (that would take up too much space).  Since only moderators can update posts past the time they get locked, they would have to do the updates. That thread should also be locked (and just the singe-post index updated as new tutorials get posted to the forum.   That would make finding all the tutorials easy, and it would only have to be a single sticky.

Yes this would create extra work for the mods, but not all that much. After all, there aren't that many tutorials being posted often to the forum.

4 hours ago, Xingu said:

If people would just utilize the tag function, the threads become easily searchable.

We will discuss the above suggestion as well.