Model Cars Magazine Forum

1964 Comet

ewetwo

This has been stripped 2 times and painted 3 times. Then I clear coated it which I'm new to. Now I'm trying to get this side trim and it's just not working. Even with all the lights I have on. I'm having a hard time seeing the lines. First I started with foil. But a 1/4 of a sheet later it didn't do well. Then I masked it off and tried the chrome pen. But it wouldn't paint and I'm thinking it's because I clear coated it which like I've said. I've never used clear coat before. I hate the thought of tossing it into the purple pond for the 3rd time. I've been trying to replicate my 1964 Comet I owned when I was a teen. 

image0.jpeg

It

4 hours ago, ewetwo said:

This has been stripped 2 times and painted 3 times. Then I clear coated it which I'm new to. Now I'm trying to get this side trim and it's just not working. Even with all the lights I have on. I'm having a hard time seeing the lines. First I started with foil. But a 1/4 of a sheet later it didn't do well. Then I masked it off and tried the chrome pen. But it wouldn't paint and I'm thinking it's because I clear coated it which like I've said. I've never used clear coat before. I hate the thought of tossing it into the purple pond for the 3rd time. I've been trying to replicate my 1964 Comet I owned when I was a teen. 

image0.jpeg

I think using the masking tape as a guide method would have worked with your foiling.  I sure has for me.

I'm new to model cars too and just tried BMF for the first time on a 70 Charger. I didn't use the tape method and it turned out okay but not great. I figured it was good for a first try so I was happy with it. My problem is the knife drifting. I find that the less pressure the better. It doesn't seem to take much pressure to make a clean cut and less chance of drift. I also put the foil right on the Splash paint and clear coated over it thinking it would give me a better edge to guide the blade.