Model Cars Magazine Forum

model kit prices

I was looking on ebay to get some idea of reasonable prices for model kits so I can clear out some of my stock that I will likely never get around to building.

Most of the kits I'm seeing are around $20 with a shipping of around $10 for a standard car model. I want to know what people are WILLING to pay (total cost of kit and shipping). Now granted, most of my kits are fairly common and most are opened but complete, which as a builder, I do not value the box or collectability of the kit so I look at a kit as if I'm going to build it. If it's an out of production or super rare kit I can see paying a higher price but $40 for an AMT Ford Ranger?

I'd like to get as much as possible, but I don't want to want to wait for months. I'd like to buy a lathe asap.

A couple of things come to mind. first where are you planing to sell your kits? Not wanting to "wait for months", brings up a few more problems.

" If it's an out of production or super rare kit I can see paying a higher price", of course, and then if you go to an auction, that, in and of itself, will take care of it.

Edited by Greg Myers

If you're looking to put them on eBay, do a search of each particular kit to see what they're going for. Shipping you can charge a flat rate (and make a couple extra $$) or specify actual cost, then the buyer pays the freight whatever it is.